You are currently viewing North Kigezi Diocese Ordinands and Spouses Retreat 24th – 27th May 2023

North Kigezi Diocese Ordinands and Spouses Retreat 24th – 27th May 2023

The four-days retreat for the North Kigezi Diocese Ordinands and spouses has kicked off today at Hotel Riverside-Rukungiri and will end on Saturday 27th May 202, leading to their ordination on Sunday 28th May 2023. The retreat is meant to prepare the ordinands for the office of deacon ministry.

The retreat was officially opened by The Rt. Rev. Onesimus Asiimwe who was accompanied by his wife Maama Florence Asiimwe. In his opening remarks, Bishop Onesimus Asiimwe refered to the ordinands as “blessed” for they were going to be his “firstborn”, as this would be his maiden ordination service to officiate. He therefore urged the ordinands to “put first things first”, making reference to Matthew 6:33 “But seek first the Kingdom of God and His Righteousness, and these things will be given to you as well.” With emphasis, the Bishop also charged them to be exemplary, to honour God, and not try to win favour of men “Okuhakwa”. He advised them to use the time of the retreat for reflection on their calling and not for honeymoon.

The facilitators of the retreat include;

  • Rev. Capt. Titus Baraka and Mrs. Mary Baraka
  • Mr. Michael Mukiza
  • Rev. Can. Justus Kahangire
  • Rev. Capt. Jallon Atusinguza
  • Rev. Can. Geoffrey Mutabazi
  • Rev. Can. James Rutaraaka
  • Rev. Ronald Natuhwera
  • Rev. Can. Kirebete
  • Rev. Enoch Karamuzi
  • Rev. Eric Kamuteera
  • Maama Florence Asiimwe
  • Maama Gladys Magezi
  • Mr. Henry Ngateireyo.

Of the sixteen (16) ordinands, ten(10) hold a Certificate in Theology, from Canon Ndimbirwe Bible College, two(2) have a Diploma in Theology, from Bishop Barham University Kabale, while four(4) hold a Bachelor’s degree in Divinity(three from Bishop Barham University Kabale, and one from Uganda Christian University, Mukono). The ordinands include;

  1. Martin Owoyesigire
  2. Kwehangana Richard
  3. Nabaasa Edson
  4. Issabella Natwijuka
  5.  Mugire Bornan
  6. Alfred Murangira
  7. Elias Nuwagaba
  8. Kweringa Fred
  9. James Twongyeirwe
  10. Benson Amanya
  11. Godfrey Byaruhanga
  12. Faith Ampumuza
  13. Taremwa Haningtone
  14. David Twongyeirwe
  15. Bitambo Denis Maryarya
  16. Arinaitwe Edinah

To God be the Glory

Click on this link to watch Bishop Onesimus Asiimwe’s speech